skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Death Certificates

Florida Department of Health in Hamilton County

Services 

The Florida Department of Health in Hamilton County serves as the county's vital records office for birth and death certificates. For certificates from other states visit the State Office of Vital Statistics.

To protect the privacy of sensitive information and to prevent identity theft, birth certificates are not public records and the cause of death on a death certificate is not public record. As required by state law, we restrict access to these certificates, but they are readily available to the individuals, family members and guardians or beneficiaries. We require requesting individuals to produce photo identification and/or other documentation before releasing these confidential records or portions of the records.

Currently, our office can only provide death certificates for deaths that occurred in Hamilton County from 1949 through the present. Death certificates for a person who died prior to 1949, whether in Hamilton or any other Florida county, can be obtained from the State Vital Statistics Office.

Who Can Obtain a Certified Copy of a Death Certificate? 

Without the cause of death listed:

  • Anyone may request a copy of a Death Certificate without the cause of death showing on the certificate, it is considered a public record.

With the cause of death listed:

  • You must be a member of the immediate family. This includes a spouse or parent, child, grandchild, or sibling if of legal age.
  • Beneficiary of a deceased person's life insurance policy (must provide documentation).
  • Estate administrator (must provide documentation).

What Information is Needed for Death Certificates 

  • To request a certificate with cause of death, you will need a valid form of photo identification such as a driver's license, State ID issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, passport or military ID.
  • A completed Death Certificate Application
  • You will also need to provide the person's full name, date of death, and county of death.

FAQ 

How soon can I expect a copy?
  • Your request will be processed the same day it is received from you by mail.
  • Your request will be processed immediately if you come to our office in person.
What is the cost to obtain a birth or death certificate?
  • Birth Certificates are $10.00.
  • Death Certificates are $5.00 for each certified copy.
What payment methods do you accept?
  • We accept cash (walk-in only), checks and money orders. Do NOT send cash by mail.
How do I obtain a copy of a birth or death certificate?

Visit our office:

  • Florida Department of Health in Hamilton County
  • Vital Statistics
  • 209 SE Central Ave
  • Jasper, FL 32052
  • Phone number: (386) 792-1414 ext: 228 or 229
  • We are open from 8:00am to 12:00pm and 1:00pm to 5:00pm, Monday through Friday

Mail a request to:

  • Florida Department of Health in Hamilton County
  • Vital Statistics
  • PO Box 267
  • Jasper, FL 32052

Fax a request to:

  • Florida Department of Health in Hamilton County
  • (386) 792-2352